

Brandeis University
Brown University
California Institute of Technology
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University

Columbia University
Cornell University
Dartmouth College
Duke University

Emory University

Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University Indiana University Iowa State University The Johns Hopkins University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
McGill University
Michigan State University
New York University
Northwestern University
The Ohio State University
The Pennsylvania State University

Princeton University
Purdue University
Rice University
Rutgers University – New Brunswick

Stanford University
Stony Brook University —
State University of New York
Texas A&M University
Tufts University

Tufts University
Tulane University
University at Buffalo –
State University of New York
The University of Arizona
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Los Angeles

University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, San Diego
University of California, Santa Barbara
University of California, Santa Cruz
The University of Chicago
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Florida
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
The University of Iowa

The University of Kansas
University of Maryland, College Park
University of Michigan
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
University of Missouri, Columbia
The University of North Carolina at

University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Southern California
The University of Texas at Austin
University of Toronto

University of Toronto
The University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Washington
The University of Wisconsin - Madison

Vanderbilt Univers

Washington University in St. Louis
Yale University

June 11, 2021

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson Chair, House Committee on Science, Space and Technology 2306 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Congressman Frank Lucas Ranking Member, House Committee on Science, Space and Technology 2405 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chair Johnson and Ranking Member Lucas,

I write to express the support of the Association of American Universities (AAU) for <u>H.R.</u> 2225, the National Science Foundation for the Future Act, a bill which the House Science, Space and Technology Committee is scheduled to consider on June 15<sup>th</sup>.

I am very grateful that, throughout the process, you and your staff have remained open to input and feedback from AAU and the broad NSF stakeholder community. Draft legislation was circulated almost a year ago and comments were not only solicited but incorporated into the bill as introduced in March of this year. From the start, the Committee has worked on a bipartisan basis, and the product reflects the support of a diverse group of Members of Congress and stakeholders.

As additional modifications to the bill are considered by the full Committee, we appreciate the opportunity to express our support for and interest in specific provisions of the current legislation.

The strong five-year **funding authorization levels** recognize the immediate need at NSF for additional funding, followed by sustained and predictable increases.

AAU strongly supports the attention provided to **graduate education** in the legislation. In addition to bolstering graduate scholarships and fellowships, the bill also adopts many recommendations to help ensure that federal graduate STEM education programs are dynamic and inclusive, and that they continually evolve to prepare a truly innovative workforce.

We share the goals reflected in the bill of increasing **research capacity** in locations and among personnel historically under-represented in NSF funding. Building sustained research capacity and partnerships is a complex endeavor that goes beyond formula spending allocations. We look forward to working with you to address these goals as the legislation advances.

As you know, the Endless Frontier Act (S. 1260), which began as an authorization bill for NSF, was recently amended and approved by the full Senate. While AAU is also supportive of the

base legislation, we were discouraged to see the volume of extraneous provisions attached to the legislation. Many of these measures do not impact the university community; however, several duplicative and restrictive research security proposals were included without sufficient input on the potential adverse impacts of these provisions on U.S. scientific research. Consequently, we believe it is important to register our great appreciation for the collaborative approach the Committee has taken with the overall bill and specifically with the **research integrity and security** provisions of H.R. 2225. As you work through research integrity and security provisions, we encourage you to continue to employ policies that use a risk-based approach and do not impose requirements that impede research and innovation.

Finally, AAU supports the creation of the **Directorate for Science and Engineering Solutions (SES)** and its mission of supporting use-inspired research and commercialization efforts. As various ideas about how to approach a new entity at NSF for technology innovation have been considered in recent years, AAU has consistently supported the idea that NSF should be open to big and bold ideas and to experimenting with its own structure and funding mechanisms. AAU believes there is shared recognition on both sides of the aisle and across our nation that the United States should continue to be the world's leader in scientific innovation. To achieve that goal, Congress must provide the seed corn in federal funding to ensure research partnerships across the nation that help turn ideas into technologies that will solve our grandest global challenges. We commend the Committee for its careful development of the Directorate for SES and encourage you to continue to refine the legislative language to ensure appropriate flexibility and adequate funding.

Again, we thank you for the work you have put in producing this very strong and important legislation and support the Committee's efforts to reauthorize NSF in a bipartisan manner. We look forward to working with you as this bill continues to advance through the legislative process.

Sincerely,

Barbara R. Snyder

President, Association American Universities