

Statement by Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)

on H.R. 3593, the *Department of Energy Science for the Future Act* June 28, 2021

I am very pleased that today we are considering the Department of Energy Science for the Future Act.

This well-vetted, bipartisan bill would provide the first-ever comprehensive authorization for the Department of Energy's Office of Science. This Office accounts for over half of the Department's non-defense research and development budget and supports a wide range of research facilities and activities that are critical to U.S. competitiveness and for enabling our clean energy future.

The Office of Science is the nation's largest supporter of research in the physical sciences, and it is the lead federal agency supporting scientific research for energy applications. H.R. 3593 authorizes significant, steady, and sustainable growth for the Office's wide-ranging research, from climate science to quantum science, and everything in between. The bill also ensures the Office's construction projects and upgrades to its world-class scientific user facilities have the resources they need to be completed on-time and on-budget.

H.R. 3593 is a substantial effort in the fight against climate change. The bill authorizes research to advance the next generation of clean energy technologies to help us reach our shared goals of developing energy that is clean, sustainable, reliable, and affordable. In carrying out these activities, this bill also directs the Office to support the development of a skilled, diverse, and inclusive workforce of clean energy researchers, scientists, and professionals.

That's why the bill has been endorsed by stakeholders in the business community, like the U.S. Chamber of Commerce; the academic community, like the Association of American Universities; major scientific associations like the American Physical and Chemical Societies; and significant environmental organizations like the Environmental Defense Fund.

This bill is another strong example of the collaborative bipartisan approach that our Committee has taken, and Ranking Member Lucas' collaborative approach to has been crucial to getting us to where we are today.

Before I yield back, I want to recognize the Science Committee staff who have worked on this bill, in some cases, for several years now:

Adam Rosenberg, Alyse Huffman, Sangina Wright and Ben Kallen. I also want to recognize the efforts of Ranking Member Lucas's staff in helping us to get to where we are today, including Hillary O'Brien, Jenn Wickre, and Daniel Dziadon.

I strongly urge my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to support this bill to dramatically improve our nation's competitiveness and help lead us all to a brighter future.