The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson Chairwoman House Committee on Science, Space and Technology 2321 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Frank Lucas Ranking Member House Committee on Science, Space and Technology 2321 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman Johnson and Ranking Member Lucas,

The undersigned organizations, who represent the full chemistry value chain, support HR 2051, The Sustainable Chemistry Research and Development Act. We strongly urge all members of the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee to approve the bill.

Innovation in sustainable chemistry is a core growth driver throughout the US manufacturing sector. Industry, governments, and consumers recognize that greater focus on sustainability in chemical products and processes can help foster new jobs, economic development, and improved competitiveness with commensurate benefits to health, safety, and the environment. More sustainable chemistry and manufacturing processes can also save energy and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

Incorporating sustainability principles into the chemical sciences is essential to meeting the future challenges of a growing world. Educating the next generation of scientist to think about sustainability from the university to the manufacturing floor will help deliver benefits to US companies' consumers, the economy, and the environment.

By better coordinating existing federal science and education activities related to sustainable chemistry, H.R. 2051 will help to accelerate needed innovation and improve sustainability in the laboratory, factory, and marketplace. The bill has been developed in consultation with a wide variety of stakeholders and strikes a constructive balance that should be preserved during the markup.

Sincerely,

The GC3 Sustainable Chemistry Alliance The American Chemistry Council The American Chemical Society The Biotechnology Innovation Organization The Household and Commercial Products Association The National Association of Manufacturers

CC: Members of the House Committee on Science, Space, & Technology