NEDHO

## Nuclear Engineering Department Heads Organization

August 9, 2020

Re: Support for Energy Innovation Legislation

Dear Honorable Nancy Pelosi and Representative Steny Hoyer.

The Nuclear Engineering Department Heads Organization (NEDHO) convey our sincere gratitude for your support of the U.S. nuclear engineering enterprise. In particular, we appreciate your support of universities within the context of nuclear technology.

The House Science, Space, and Technology Committee currently has a number of bills on Energy Innovation. Two of these bills that directly relate to nuclear energy include:

- HR 4091, The ARPA-E Reauthorization Act: Reauthorizes ARPA-E and expands its authority to work on projects relating to nuclear waste clean-up, nuclear waste management, and projects to improve the energy infrastructure within the Unites States.
- **HR 6097, the Nuclear Energy Research and Development Act**: Reauthorizes DOE's nuclear energy research and develops activities including the development of advanced reactor designs. This Act also includes support for Nuclear Energy University Programs and the University Nuclear Leadership Program.

We strongly support the above and ask that you move the energy innovation legislation forward. If NEDHO may ever be of service to you, please let us know.

Regards,

Kostadin Ivanov NEDHO Chair Head of Department of Nuclear Engineering North Carolina State University

Arthur Motta NEDHO Executive Committee Ken and Mary Alice Lindquist Department of Nuclear Engineering Pennsylvania State University

Todd Allen NEDHO Chair-Elect Glenn F. and Gladys H. Knoll Department Chair Department of Nuclear Engineering & Radiological Sciences University of Michigan

Bugalski

Steven Biegalski NEDHO Executive Committee Chair, Nuclear and Radiological Engineering and Medical Physics Georgia Institute of Technology

Built. Gud

Brian Wood NEDHO Executive Committee Schuette Chair and Head School of Nuclear Science and Engineering Oregon State University

cc: Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson Representative Frank Lucas