The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson Ranking Minority Member Committee on Science, Space and Technology U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Ms. Johnson:

We, the undersigned American Nobel laureates in Physics, Chemistry, Medicine and Physiology, urge the House of Representatives to eliminate the separate appropriations authorizations for each directorate in the National Science Foundation when it considers H.R. 1806, The America COMPETES Reauthorization Act of 2015. If the separate authorizations for each directorate are not eliminated, we urge the House to restore the budgets for the Geosciences and Social, Behavioral and Economic Directorates.

For the first time in the history of the National Science Foundation, H.R. 1806, as approved by the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology establishes a separate appropriations authorization for each of the Foundation's directorates. The bill authorizes the appropriation of \$1.2 billion annually for the Foundation's Geosciences Directorate in the next two fiscal years, over \$100 million less than this year. The bill authorizes \$150 million annually for the Foundation's Social, Behavioral and Economic Directorate in the next two fiscal years, which is \$100 million less than this year.

The allocation of funds among the Foundation's directorates requires a broad understanding of the scientific and engineering opportunities that hold the most promise of advancing scientific and technical knowledge and thus benefiting the nation. The Foundation's leadership and the scientific and technical experts who advise them are in the best position to make these allocations. The reductions in support for the geosciences and the social sciences contained in H.R. 1806 would discourage American scientists from undertaking basic research into important topics ranging from economic prosperity to national security. The proposed reductions differ from the preponderance of advice from experts, interfering with work that is vital to our future and harming scientific inquiry and our country.

We urge you to modify H.R. 1806 so that appropriations authorizations for each directorate in the National Science Foundation can be made by the Nation's scientists, rather than by Congressionally mandated appropriations authorizations. Should this effort fail, we urge you to support increasing the appropriations authorization levels allocated to the Geosciences and Social, Behavioral and Economic Directorates and act to preserve research strength in these important areas.

Respectfully submitted On behalf of 31 Nobel Laureates in the sciences,

Sir Richard Roberts Ph.D., F.R.S.

1993 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine Chief Scientific Officer, New England Biolabs 240 County Road Ipswich, MA 01938-2723 USA

Tel: (978) 380-7405 / Fax: (978) 412-9910

Email: roberts@neb.com

Assistant: Karen Otto

Tel: (978) 380-7206 / Fax: (978) 412-9910

Email: otto@neb.com

Peter Agre, *Chemistry*, 2003 Philip W. Anderson, *Physics*, 1977 Günter Blobel, *Medicine*, 1999 Thomas R. Cech, *Chemistry*, 1989

Martin Chalfie, Chemistry, 2008

Steven Chu, Physics, 1997

Robert F. Curl, Jr., Chemistry, 1996

Johann Deisenhofer, Chemistry, 1988

Andrew Z. Fire, *Medicine*, 2006 Edmond H. Fischer, *Medicine*, 1992

Walter Gilbert, Chemistry, 1980

Sheldon Glashow, *Physics*, 1979

John L. Hall, Physics, 2005

Dudley R. Herschbach, Chemistry, 1986

Roald Hoffmann, Chemistry, 1981

Roger D. Kornberg, Chemistry, 2006

Leon M. Lederman, Physics, 1988

Robert J. Lefkowitz, Chemistry, 2012

Anthony J. Leggett, Physics, 2003

John C. Mather, Physics, 2006

Craig C. Mello, Medicine, 2006

Mario J. Molina, Chemistry, 1995

H. David Politzer, Physics, 2004

Richard J. Roberts, Medicine, 1993

Randy W. Schekman, Medicine, 2013

Phillip A. Sharp, Medicine, 1993

Hamilton O. Smith, Medicine, 1978

Jack W. Szostak, Medicine, 2009

Arieh Warshel, Chemistry, 2013

Eric F. Wieschaus, Medicine, 1995

Frank Wilczek, Physics, 2004