Skip to primary navigation Skip to content
May 26, 2023

Science Committee Members Meet Artemis II Crew

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Last week, Members of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology met with the crew of Artemis II. The Artemis II crew includes Reid Wiseman, Victor Glover, Christina Hammock Koch, and Jeremy Hansen. The Artemis II mission is slated for late 2024 and will be the first crewed Artemis mission to fly around the Moon. The discoveries and knowledge gained from this mission will pave the way for Artemis III, set to return humans to the Moon for the first time in over 50 years.

Ranking Member Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Rep. Haley Stevens (D-MI), Rep. Deborah Ross (D-NC), Rep. Jeff Jackson (D-NC), Rep. Emilia Sykes (D-OH), Rep. Yadira Caraveo (D-CO), Rep. Jennifer McClellan (D-VA), Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA), and Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY) made the following statement:

“It was an honor to meet the astronauts of Artemis II last week,” said the Members. “This crew will pave the way for our mission to return humans to the surface of the Moon. Next year, we will get to witness them venture beyond low Earth orbit for the first time in more than fifty years, as they fly around the moon for the Artemis II mission. As Members of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, we are all committed to continuing support of an ambitious and inspirational spaceflight program. We look forward to watching NASA’s continued progress in returning to the Moon and on to Mars. We wish this crew, the Artemis crews to follow, and the entire NASA team the best in their preparation for this next great leap.”


Learn more about the Artemis II Mission here.