Skip to primary navigation Skip to content
October 11, 2021

Chairwoman Johnson Congratulates 2021 Nobel Laureates

(Dallas, TX) – Over the last week, the 2021 Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature, and Peace as well as the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences, were announced. Each year, thousands of nominators submit candidates for the Nobel Prize, and Laureates are announced in October. 

Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) made the following statement.

“Every year I am inspired by the groundbreaking accomplishments made by each of the individuals nominated for the Nobel Prize. It speaks to the state of the world, and our nation, that this year, more than one award was given for work related to climate change. In that regard, I would note the award to Dr. Syukuro Manabe who was jointly awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics, the first in that category to be awarded for studies related to the human role in climate change. Dr. Manabe spent several decades at National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and helped build the foundation for today’s climate models.

“I offer my sincerest congratulations to all of this year’s laureates. These remarkable individuals are an inspiration to rising generations of problem solvers. The contributions they have made in their fields will continue to make a lasting impacts across the globe as we work to address our most pressing issues.”


The list of Honored Laureates consists of:

Dr. Syukuro Manabe, Physics

Dr. Klaus Hasselmann, Physics

Dr. Giorgio Parisi, Physics

Dr. Benjamin List, Chemistry

Dr. David MacMillan, Chemistry 

Dr. David Julius, Medicine

Dr. Ardem Patapoutian, Medicine

Dr. Abdulrazak Gurnah, Literature

Ms. Maria Ressa, Peace

Mr. Dmitri A. Muratov, Peace

Dr. David Card, Economic Sciences

Dr. Joshua D. Angrist, Economic Sciences

Dr. Guido W. Imbens, Economic Sciences