Skip to primary navigation Skip to content
August 25, 2021

Chairwoman Johnson Statement on State of the Climate in 2020 Report

(Dallas, TX) – Today, the American Meteorological Society published the 31st annual State of the Climate Report, led by scientists at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). In the report, scientists conclude that in 2020, greenhouse gases concentrations in the Earth’s atmosphere were the highest on record and global sea level rose to a new record for the ninth consecutive year—among other major findings. This annual report is an international collaboration, with the work of over 530 scientists from across the globe representing more than 60 countries.

“Today scientists sounded the alarm on the climate crisis again in the State of the Climate in 2020 report,” said Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX). “Despite the economic slowdown by the COVID-19 pandemic last year, atmospheric greenhouse gas emissions reached a record high. It is clear that without swift action, we can unfortunately expect to set new records like these every year. The consequences of climate change impact every American—especially disadvantaged communities— across the country; from the devastating floods in Tennessee a few days ago to the record-breaking wildfires in the west. Building a better future for all means acting on climate now. As Chairwoman of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, I remain committed to ensuring our nation’s top scientists, engineers, and researchers have the tools they need to create innovative ways to address climate change and develop vital mitigation and adaptation strategies. I thank all those who contributed to this report. I am dedicated to ensuring research agencies like NOAA have the resources they need to continue to provide us with this extremely important information. This situation is urgent, but it’s not hopeless. We have an opportunity to lead the global response in the fight against the climate crisis —we cannot afford to waste it.”

Related Subcommittees