Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Ralph Hall Named Ranking Democratic Member on House Science Committee

Aug 5, 1999
Press Release

The Democratic Caucus of the House of Representatives has selected Ralph M. Hall of Texas to serve as Ranking Democratic Member of the Committee on Science. Hall replaces the late George E. Brown, Jr.

"If there was ever a man born to be chairman of the Science Committee, it was George Brown," Hall said. "He was a good friend and great advocate of science. It is an honor to follow him as Ranking Democrat on the Science Committee, and I look forward to continuing the good work that he has done to promote scientific research and discovery for the benefit of all Americans."

"I am also honored to follow in the footsteps of a great fellow Texan who pioneered the space program - the late Congressman Olin (Tiger) Teague of College Station," Hall added.

Mr. Hall has served on the Science Committee since he was sworn in for the 97th Congress. He was named Chairman of the Subcommittee on International Scientific Cooperation for the 100th and 101st Congresses. Mr. Hall led the Subcommittee on Space in the 102nd and 103rd Congresses, and continued to serve as Ranking Democratic Member in the 104th Congress. A member of the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics and the Subcommittee on Energy and Environment in the current Congress, Mr. Hall will now serve ex officio on all Subcommittees.

Mr. Hall represents the Fourth District of the State of Texas, stretching north and east from the outskirts of the Dallas/Fort Worth metropolitan area. Born in Fate, Texas, he came to Congress after a career in business and law and service in the Texas Legislature. Mr. Hall currently lives in Rockwall, Texas.

106th Congress